fun with oracle-x

I have had a lot of fun with admix calculators at Gedmatch in the past, but snooping around various forums brought a new set of tools to my attention. When you run some calculations using popular tests such as Dodecad’s World9, you will see several buttons at the bottom of the screen following the analysis. These include Oracle, Oracle-4, and Oracle-X.

The reason I found these tools even more interesting is because they give you more ‘granularity’ — to use an awful world from the investment world — on what populations you match. For example, my grandmother’s Ancestry kit using Dodecad Oracle-X yields the following results with Pct Option 1:

1. Mixed Germanic 90.84%  2. Sardinian 6.43% 3. Ecuadorian 1.45% 4. AthabaskHD4 1.22% 5. MEX30 .02% 6. Colombian .02%

Pct. Option 2 yields somewhat different results:

1. Mixed Germanic 89.1% 2. Sardinian 4.95% 3. Ecuadorian 3.53% 4. Aragon 2.29% 5, Ethiopian Jews .01%

One interesting thing I have learned in trying to tease out my grandmother’s indigenous ancestry is that some calculators will split this ancestry between an Arctic/Athabaskan component and a Mesoamerican component. For example, MLDP World Oracle-X shows 1.86 Bra1 (Brazilian) and .48% Inuit-West. Does this reflect a similar split within the Chowanoke population? If there was a “full-blooded” Chowanoke alive today, would he or she show an even split between Athabaskan and Mesoamerican?

There is a danger in using these calculators. They do not operate independently of paper genealogy. I know from my paper genealogy, that most of my grandmother’s ancestors came from the British Isles (or the European Coastal Islands, as Family Tree DNA calls them in its MyOrigins offering). And I know from looking at many calculators that she has about 1-5 percent indigenous ancestry. But my grandmother’s grandfather was from Germany, a small town southeast of Dresden, right on the Czech border. In fact, you can walk through town into the Czech Republic. On occasion, my grandmother draws a large “Eastern European” result because of this. This will be shown as Russian, Latvian, Lithuanian, Slovenian, and other Baltic or Slavic nationalities. If I was unaware of that connection to the Czech border population, I would be very, very confused.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

